Double Trouble: UBL Bounces from Milan to France in a Month after Photoshoot Crisis!

Writing my boutique blogs on my travels abroad running Unique Boutique London is usually a highlight of being the woman behind the business. Sharing my fashion business experiences has always been a positive way of letting people know what it’s like being in business as well as creating a different presentation strategy for my brands. The experience I’m about to share is one of my wildest ones yet! I think I’m still trying to get my head around all that has happened in such a short space of time, but the new Unique Boutique London SS17 Urban Underground & Gemini Designs is out now at http://www.uniqueboutiquelondon.co.uk and now it’s time to reflect on the madness!

SS17 Collection – The Urban Underground Crop Polo Shirt in Forest
SS17 Collection – The Urban Underground Crop Polo Shirt in Black

So since last year I made it a thing to do a photoshoot abroad somewhere in Europe to add some aesthetic to my approach when it came down to visuals and content that I put out under my business. After all my business is called Unique Boutique London and as a small business, I go the extra mile when it comes to presentation and imagery in order to be unique. Last year I shot my UBLimited Collection in Portugal with photographer Ashley Verse and this year I decided to jet out to sunny Milan to shoot the SS17 releases. The weather and locations were beautiful; not to mention the amazing street art. 

Street Art in Milan, Italy
Street Art in Milan, Italy
Street Art in Milan, Italy

All was going well until during the photoshoot in which I was modelling the first look of the range, I went to pick up our things as we moved up the location only to catch a petty thief red handed trying to take my phone out of my bag! Now for my first real fight or flight moment, I wasn’t really flying anywhere as me and this guy played a game of tug of war before he gave up and ran off. The show had to go on despite my feelings of violation and annoyance, and the rest of the shoot went well…until we landed back in the UK.

SS17 Collection – The Men’s Underground T-shirt in Khaki
SS17 Collection – The Men’s Underground T-shirt in Grey

The blunders of all blunders happened and my incompetent photographer left her very own camera on the plane with all my Milan footage on it after we arrived back to London. There was no way of getting the camera back, so I had to think fast and work out what I wanted to do in order to get this collection out without compromising my vision. I could have done a photoshoot in London, but if that’s what I wanted to do I wouldn’t have flew out to Milan in the first place. I decided that I was going to invest in another shoot abroad, avoid the bad karma of Milan and fly out to the lovely Nice, France less than two weeks after coming back. 

SS17 Collection – Gemini Designs Candy Crochet Bralet in Mustard
SS17 Collection – Gemini Designs Candy Crochet Choker in Pink
SS17 Collection – Gemini Designs Candy Crochet Choker
SS17 Collection – Gemini Designs Candy Crochet Bralet in Pink

In the end flying out to do a remix photoshoot in France was better than the Milan experience with a lovely beach less than 15 minutes away, fabulous weather and gorgeous locations in our surrounding area. I loved it so much that I would even consider branching business out to the Nice in future. I also shot my new Time is Money Clothing Merchandise out there which will eventually form a capsule collection that coincides with my newly published book, Time is Money.

Time is Money Crop Hoodie in Sand available at Unique Boutique London
Time is Money Crop Hoodie in Sand available at Unique Boutique London

For those that don’t know, I’m a writer first before an entrepreneur. Writing is the foundation of everything I put into practice for both Unique Boutique London and my literary endeavours. Time is Money is my third published book based on the self-development of young people, creatives and individuals in business. With recent tragedies such as the Grenfell Fire which is literally 15 minutes away from where I live, I felt obligated to use this capsule collection to help raise some money for those who have been affected. 

10% of all Time is Money sales from the 1st August to the 1st October 2017 will be donated to the families of Grenfell. A short video will be released more talking further about the campaign and I’m in the process of setting up a funding page to see if I can you that little bit further.

Time is Money Clothing x #JusticeForGrenfell
Time is Money Unisex Full Hoodie in Sand available at Unique Boutique London

I’m 22 years young and have been running Unique Boutique London for just over two years. There have been many ups and downs but once you develop a passion for something, believe me things will always fall into place eventually. My new SS17 Collection & Time is Money range is out now at http://www.uniqueboutiquelondon.co.uk and you can keep up to date with all the things I get up to planning and executing shoots, working with models and bringing my visions to life on my socials below:

Twitter: @UBLondon_ @Tannika_x 

Facebook: Unique Boutique London & Time is Money UK

Instagram: @uniqueboutiqueldn @urbanundergroundltd @timeismoneyldn 

Leave a comment